Hildebrand Collection

Selected artworks from the Hildebrand Collection are permanently on view at the G2 Kunsthalle. According to the collector`s idea to open his collection to the public, the G2 Kunsthalle presents parts of the Hildebrand Collection in changing installations and special exhibitions. This private collection´s personal character is defined by an individual passion for art collecting that emphasizes its essential difference in comparison to public museal institutions.

The private collection focuses on contemporary painting of the 21st century including drawings, prints, sculptures and other media objects. The collector and entrepreneur Steffen Hildebrand concentrates his collecting activity on the so-called New Leipzig School. The development of the art production in Leipzig after the turn of the millennium is represented through significant artworks and important group of works by established artists as well as by younger, emerging names. A second substantial nucleus of the collection consists of other national and international artistic movements.

Interview with Steffen Hildebrand, art collector and founder of the G2 Kunsthalle
G2 Kunsthalle @ BMW Art Guide
Online Exhibitions G2 #5 Hildebrand Collection & G2 #6 New Acquisitions

_MG_0419 _MG_0401


G2 #9

From February until May 2018 works by the following artists from the Hildebrand Collection are on view at G2 Kunsthalle as part of the exhibition THE ART OF RECOLLECTING and the permanent collection: Hans Aichinger, Benjamin Bergman, Judith Bernstein, Norbert Bisky, John Bock, Andrea Bowers, Birgit Brenner, Birgit Dieker, Famed, Melissa Gordon, Henriette Grahnert, Martin Groß, Paule Hammer, Katrin Heichel, Gregor Hildebrandt, Rebecca Horn, Thomas Kiesewetter, Uwe Kowski, Alicja Kwade, Jonathan Meere & Herbert Volkmann, Bastian Muhe, Marcel Odenbach, Raymond Pettibon, Jochen Plogsties, Neo Rauch, Daniel Richter, Christoph Ruckhäberle, Tomás Saraceno, Andreas Schmitten, David Schnell, Christian Tomaszewski (C.T. Jasper), Stefan Vogel, Ruprecht von Kaufmann, Amelie von Wulffen and Matthias Weischer (download complete list of exhibited art works).

Past presentations of the collection included also works by the following artists: Stephan Balkenhol, Tilo Baumgärtel, Christian Brandl, Sebastian Burger, Peter Busch, Björn Dahlem, Benjamin Dittrich, Marcel Dzama, Jens Einhorn, Jörg Ernert, Tom Fabritius, Axel Geis, Sebastian Gögel, Nicolás Guagnini, Stefan Guggisberg, Grit Hachmeister, Terry Haggerty, Anne Imhof, Anna K.E., Martin Kobe, Peter Krauskopf, Sven Kroner, Edgar Leciejewski, Rosa Loy, Malte Masemann, Tobias Lehner, Andreas Mühe, Jeanette Mundt, Juliana Ortiz, Ulf Puder, Tal R, Johannes Rochhausen, Thomas Ruff, Julia Schmidt, Rigo Schmidt, Kristina Schuldt, Thomas Schütte, Robert Seidel, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Koen van den Broek, Miriam Vlaming, Mirjam Völker and Hendrik Voerkel.

To visit our present exhibition please check our opening hours or make a reservation for one of our guided tours online.

installation view with art works by (from left to right) Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Anne Imhof and Jeanette Mundt _MG_3346

Contact us

follow us on